Tweeting the Debate With Current TV

Four years ago at Telephone Bar in NYC, Noel Hidalgo and I talked about an idea to run an IRC back channel during the presidential debates. This morning I saw a tweet from him about remixing the debates and reminded him of our idea. He has now blogged about something very cool. Current TV and Twitter have teamed up and will be aggregating debate related tweets and displaying them on Current TV.


  1. 1.Tune in on September 26th at 8:30pm EST/ 5:30pm PST for our special Current Vanguard pre-debate show, followed by the Live Presidential Debate at 9pm EST/ 6pm PST. Find Current TV on your local cable/satellite provider or come here to watch the live stream of our broadcast.
  2. 2.Make sure you’ve registered with Twitter to participate.
  3. 3.During the debates, chime in by including “#current” in your tweet. Example:
    “This discussion about universal healthcare makes me want to pop some pills! #current”
  4. 4.You can follow along with other Current tweeters here by following #current on Twitter search.
  5. 5.If you have any questions about participating, send us a tweet @current

 Also worth mentioning, a dashboard/aggregatory of statistics, blog posts, polls and — yes, tweets — about the election.